Keyboard Conversations® with Jeffrey Siegel: Concerts with Lively Commentary at Scandinavia House, New York

Internationally-acclaimed pianist Jeffrey Siegel continues his sixth season at Scandinavia House. Each evening is comprised of informal commentary on the music and its composers, a full performance of each work, and concludes with a short Q & A session. The accessible format enriches audience understanding of classical music for the newcomer and seasoned listener alike.

The high-powered virtuoso works of J.S. Bach, as well as Bach-inspired works of later romantic composers, including pieces by Felix Mendelssohn, Dmitri Shostakovich, and Sergei Rachmaninoff, as well as Frédéric Chopin's Preludes and Franz Liszt's Weinen, Klagen, Sorgen, Zagen – an intensely moving short set of variations based on Bach's famous descending melody from the Mass in B minor, Crucifixus.

This series is made possible in part by a generous grant from The Peter Jay Sharp Foundation, Edmund C. Duffy, Director.

The American-Scandinavian Foundation @ Scandinavia House

58 Park Avenue @ 38th Street

New York, NY 10016

T: 212.779.3587

Thursday, May 16, 2013 - 20:00